Martin Baird Medal


The Martin Baird Medal is the premier senior club award. The award is in the name of a young player who was a member of our club’s Inverarity U13’s side in the inaugural season of 1995/96:


Martin progressed through the junior ranks and was selected in the 1999–2000 State U/17’s team. After establishing himself in the first grade side, it was a huge loss to the club and local community when Martin tragically died in a motor vehicle accident.



The winner of the medal is determined by the senior player players. At the completion of a game, each player wards votes 3-2-1 to the players they consider have contributed most to the match. The votes are collated at the end of the season and the player awarded the most points during the season receives the Martin Baird Medal. The voting system provides every senior player with a chance for success as votes in all grades have the same value.



“Martin Baird played the game in an attacking and uninhibited way. Two on-field memories most at the club have of Marty is of him slamming a 6 and a 4 in the last over of Rockingham-Mandurah’s first ever match against University in the Sunday League to get the Mariners home. The second memory is when he played an innings of responsibility to see us home against Mt Lawley. Eventually, as Marty always did, he finished things off stylishly, by walking down the wicket and dobbing a state pace bowler over his head for the winning runs, with the Mariners nine wickets down!


Martin, as well as a fine competitive cricketer, was a fantastic club man. Juniors and seniors alike enjoyed Marty’s company and the clubroom was always a better place when Marty was around.


It is for these reasons and many more why the Martin Baird Medal is the most treasured individual award at Rockingham-Mandurah District Cricket Club.”


Joe Sarsero



Previous winners:


2003-04 Corey Whisson

2004-05 Ryan Ten Doeschatte

2005-06 Joe Sarsero

2006-07 Steve Grant